Glen Major Forest

What a glorious day! This past Saturday was the perfect day to be outdoors to soak up some springtime sun. We hit the trails fairly early this morning at Glen Major Forest in Durham (and a bit through Walkers Woods). The first portion of the trail leading from the parking lot is crushed gravel and then it changes to dirt trails that meander through the forest and some open areas. There was a nice mixture of wide sections and single track and lots of rolling hills. Everywhere I looked it was so green! And the sounds…. silence! Okay, there were the occasional squirrels and chipmunks scurrying through the bush.

I came across a couple of other runners and some mountain bikers, including a large group of 15 or so bikers who were a part of an organized trip – they had Canada 150 signs mounted on the front of their bikes.

I’m not very familiar with these trails; the last time I was there was in the winter snowshoeing. The main trails are marked but there are many side trails that can make it a bit confusing. I crossed over to Walkers Woods and thought that I could circle back but the trail connected to a trail along private property (different from what the map indicated) so I back tracked and tried a different route. This time I was sure I was headed in the wrong direction so I checked the compass on my phone. Sure enough I was headed in the opposite direction, so I back tracked again and caught up with the Trans Canada Trail which led me back to my car. All of the trails connect and lead back to a road or parking lot, so it’s not really possible to get lost.

I was impressed with how well maintained the trails were and not much in way of garbage! I saw maybe one beer can and something shined at one point, but not much else.

And what would a trip to Durham be without a visit to Hy-Hope Farms. We sat out on their deck and had an early lunch, while looking out all the way to Lake Ontario. Spectacular view!

IMG_2328[1]

A great day to be outdoors!

Leave a Reply

